Please subscribe to WAD's Newsletter

    Type at least 1 character to search
    Back to top


    Africa Spirit Mascot

    holy trinity

    Heartbeat of Africa in progress                                                                                                                                                     West African Heritage and Traditions workshop at Holy Trinity school Tameside delivered by WAD.                               Sponsor by the Heritage Lottery Fund.


    wad image 1

    Africa continent is known as the second largest and most populous in the planet Earth. Africa is divided in five regions which are: Northern Africa, Western Africa, Central Africa, Eastern Africa and Southern Africa. Africa Spirit mascot made by West African Development (WAD) community charity organisation in Tameside 2015 is considered to be the first African Shape mascot in the world. The mascot is created in African colours Green – Yellow – Red, the Head of Lion and the cauris to proud the African and cultural awareness. The mascot first time out to the public was on Saturday 30th January 2016 at Heartbeat of Africa launch event in Ashton-Under-Lyne Tameside with the attendance of the Member of Parliament Angela Rayner, Councillor Maria Bailey, Anna Hynes CVAT partnership services manager and Jayne Hargrave from the heritage lottery. This artefact mascot will be use to inform and educated the public in particular children about various African countries and traditions and also the mascot will enable children and young people African and others to develop skills and learning through participating in our map activity. Africa Spirit mascot is now available for schools workshop, Cultural event, Faith event, Fun day event, Parade, Football match etc… To contact us call: 07754715849 Email:

    wad 2